This site requires a modern browser with javascript enabled for full functionality

For the best experience, please use the latest version of one of these browsers:


Test Pit 59, St George's House, Littlemore

The test pit was dug in the garden to the east side of the house which was thought to be the most likely to be undisturbed. St George’s House is one of the oldest buildings in the village. The owners have researched its history and advised that the house appears on a map dated 1611 but probably built slightly earlier. Some of the stonework incorporated in the building could originate from the dismantling of buildings after the dissolution in the early 1520s of nearby Minchery Priory. The building has extremely shallow foundations and is built directly on the high limestone bedrock. Much of the garden surrounding the house have been altered considerably with the bringing in of modern, especially to the back and west of the house - see Test Pit 60 report

Read more